Summer Survival Kit

With temperatures reaching 118 degrees this week, it is clear that we are well in the midst of summer. It’s hot, it’s sweaty, and it’s stifling. While some opt to go to the beach, we in Arizona, stick to swimming pools… (until we can make it to the beach). However, with work and everyday (adult) lives, we can’t spend every moment by the pool which can make the summer temperatures feel a little less than friendly at times. With that in mind, I’ve put together my “Summer Survival Kit” with everything you need to survive AND enjoy the summer.

Firstly, we have sunnies. Everyone needs a great pair of sunglasses for the summer. You need glasses that you feel fantastic in but are also functional enough for everyday use. It is much too bright out there without eye protection. This year I treated myself to a pair of Ray-Bans that I’ve had my eye on for many, many months. They were quite pricey, but honestly, I was spending so much on gas to try them on in the store everyday… you do the math.

Secondly, we have magazines… or any good reading material to be honest. Whether hanging out by the pool, or relaxing under the ceiling fan; reading material is a must. So much time can be wasted on Netflix, and while I’m as much of a Netflix addict as the next person, I also enjoy taking a moment to read a great book, or catch up on fashion trends. Definitely a MUST to pass the time when the weather is hottt.

FullSizeRender 9

Next, invest in a great swimsuit. Mine is by Azura. This was another pricey item, but definitely worth it. I bought it for the Christmas party when I lived in Sydney. I wanted a one piece because I wanted to be classy and modest, especially in front of my co-workers at the time. I’m so glad that I bought it because it has proved to be a staple for summer. The blue and white stripe is classic, yet the back is cut out which makes it feel youthful and edgy. Definitely worth the investment.

Now, onto the products. I am obsessed with my Amika “Perk Up Dry Shampoo.” I have naturally fine, flat hair which only gets flatter as the weather gets warmer. The dry shampoo is fantastic to fluff my hair back up when it’s looking a little forlorn. I don’t know about you, but I definitely sweat in the hot weather which can make my freshly washed hair feel less than freshly washed. This dry shampoo is great for “freshening up” the less than fresh hair as well!

FullSizeRender 7

Speaking of hair, I DETEST drying my hair every time I wash it in the summer. Sometimes it is simply too hot, or I can’t be bothered to fully blow it out. The Matrix “Wild Boho” air dry cream is amazing for days when I just want to let my hair air dry. I scrunch it in when it is damp, and when it drys it has volume and texture without a sticky residue. A MUST for summer hair.

FullSizeRender 8

I’m also recently in love with my rose water spritz. Rose water is anti-inflammatory so it calms redness and irritation, It is great for acne and is filled with antioxidants. I love to spritz my face with it throughout the day to rehydrate and freshen and is definitely a summer staple for anyone.

FullSizeRender 5

Finally last, but certainly not least is my faithful Clinique sunscreen. Even if you are diligent about staying out the sun, you can’t help but be exposed to it sometimes. For that, you need a great sunscreen. This sunscreen is SPF 50 and has an oil-free formulation so it doesn’t clog my pores. It has a slight tint to it as well which I love because it blends imperfections. I’m able to wear it out and about without looking like I’m completely barefaced. With that in mind, it is a great alternative to a bb cream, especially with its high SPF.

FullSizeRender 6

Well, there you have it… my summer survival kit. I’ve got everything I need to make my summer feel less endless, and more like a vacation. Well, everything except a margarita. Speaking of….

Leave a Reply

